top of page

Eclectic Femme

Updated: Jun 27, 2020

#Pronouns: She/Her/Hers


“I tend to wear more feminine things. I go with the long hair. Most of my clothes, I would say ninety percent is from the women’s section,” says Veronica Castrio, a biology major and aspiring rural doctor.

On a stroll in a Saratoga Springs park, she mentions that dresses are a common femme favorite she enjoys wearing all through the summer. Adjusting her long wavy brown hair, she sits in a red dress by a stone staircase along the path. Another favorite of hers, the vibrant red dress is one that makes her feel confident.


“The red dress is my favorite, because I like the way people- I think if you dress a certain way, you get away with stuff. I feel like it’s a flirty dress, and it’s a dress I feel comfortable in,” says Castrio.


A quick outfit change and she’s ordering an appetizer at an obscure bar and grill. Wearing a sleeveless black patterned dress her mother had given her, she explains that she loves the dress mostly because of its unique set of patterns and fit. She tends to gravitate towards various kinds of eclectic patterns, may they be clouds, pineapples, or bees. An avid painter by hobby, Castrio enjoys incorporating both muted and bright colors into her wardrobe.


In general, she defines her style as eccentric. She’s spontaneous and just wears what she likes in that moment. As a cisgender, feminine woman, she says she enjoys keeping up with trends while also putting her own spin on them. As different trends from different decades are resurrected every season, she likes to pick and choose what she wears and how.


“I like to do the decades thing, the 60s or 80s. For a while, the 60s was in when everybody was wearing red lipstick and buttoned high waisted shorts...In the 80s, there was a whole punk style. My mom’s friends had punk style and mowhawks and stuff. When her clothes come into style, she just gives them to me,” says Castrio.


Overall, her style is equal parts classic and quirky. The bubbly twenty year old expresses that although she follows most feminine trends, there are some that will never be found in her closet. Those include outfits with cuts in random spots or tops with slogans. She prefers repetitive prints but loathes printed shirts that have sayings on them. She sticks to staples such as white t’s, jeans, tights, and dresses.


She’s essentially a petite, femme-dressing woman. As such, she admits that she has never been misgendered. Acknowledging that this is not a reality for many people with non-binary gender identities or different modes of gender expression, she explains, ”I identify as a woman at birth, my assigned gender. I never since I was a kid, was mistaken for the wrong gender.”

0 comments
bottom of page